Highland View Academy

Hagerstown | MD
Highland View Academy
Mission Statement 

The mission at Highland View Academy is to inspire and mentor our students to excel in all Christ calls them to do.
"His power at work in us can do far more than we dare ask or imagine." Ephesians 3:20

Our school is dedicated to helping students achieve excellence in academics, spiritual growth, 
social responsibility, interpersonal relationships, and living a healthy, balanced lifestyle.

Our Philosophy 

Highland View Academy is a coeducational, secondary school operated by the Chesapeake Conference for the purpose of providing quality Christ-centered education. The primary objective of this school is to help each student personally experience the unconditional love of God through the revelation of His character, the redemption in His Son, and the restoration of His image. 

The school endeavors to provide students with a wellrounded educational program that leads students to fully develop their God-given talents and use them to serve God and humanity. The operating board, administration, faculty and staff are fully committed to operating all aspects of the school program in harmony with Biblical principles. Students learn to:
  • develop a personal relationship with God and his fellow men as stated in Matthew 2:37-39
  • master the basic academic skills
  • value labor, physical and mental, as the blessing God intended
  • cultivate physical fitness, mental ability, and moral purity as the blessing God intended.

Highland View Academy operates in harmony with the guidance and direction of the Office of Education, North American Division of the Seventh-day Adventist Church.
 

Highland View Academy (HVA) admits students of any race, color, national and ethnic origin to all the rights, privileges, programs and activities accorded or made available to HVA students. We do not discriminate on the basis of sex, race, color, national or ethnic origin in the administration of our educational policies and procedures, scholarship awards, athletic or other school-administered programs. We do, however, reserve the right to deny admission to any individual who cannot benefit from enrollment based on past academic achievement, disqualifying learning difference or physical limitations, or whose personal or family lifestyle is not in harmony with the stated philosophy of Highland View Academy.

Faculty & Staff

Ophelia Barizo
VP for Advancement/STEM
Forensic Science/ Integrated STEM

obarizo@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 236
Joyce Barr
Business Office Asst.


jbarr@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 244
Erik Borges
Principal
Athletic Director


eborges@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 229
     
     
Shannon Brown
Vice Principal/Registrar,
Spanish

sbrown@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 239
Andrew Choi
Business Manger, Accounting,
International Student Director

achoi@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 237
Amanda Corea
Registrar's Office, Campus Ministries


mcorea@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext.225
     
     
 
Marci Corea
Asst. Dean of Girls


macorea@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 247; Dorm Phone: 240-347-2088
Austin Gomez
Dean of Girls,
Yearbook & Drama

agomez@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 241; Dorm Phone: 240-347-2088
Omar Gomez
Asst. Dean of Boys, 
Computers

ogomez@highlandviewacademy.com
Dorm Phone: 301-678-9482
     
     
Cesar Grassiotto
HV Church Pastor



grassiottopastor@gmail.com
 
Andrew Lay
Advancement Director, Alumni Coordinator, 
Music Director

alay@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 222
Colleen Lay
Math, Science


clay@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 224
     
     
 
April Lutz
History

alutz@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 226
Maintenance
Plant Services


maintenance@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 
LouAnn McCain
Food Services

lmccain@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 261
   
     
Lisa Norton
Computer Science, Math


lnorton@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 235
Joey Rouse
Dean of Boys,
Gymnastics

jrouse@highlandviewacademy.com
Dorm Phone: 301-678-9482
Juliana Savoy
ESL, Spanish


jsavoy@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext.233
     
     
No Picture Available
Susan Scoggins
Asst. Business Office Manager

sscoggins@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext.233
Sherry Strickland
Secretary

sstrickland@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 221
Jim Zeismer
Bible

jzeismer@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 240
     
     
 
Sharon Zeismer
Assist Coordinator

szeismer@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 234



 
Dr. Lori Zerne
English, Library

lzerne@highlandviewacademy.com
Ext. 243